A Dreamer Walking

To The Blog Readers! (if there are any :/ )

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on February 28, 2012

Well guys, I am ashamed that it has been more then two weeks without a post. I really have no excuse except for the fact that I haven’t known what to write about. I am getting to some cross roads in life and needing to make some big decisions. I am not interested as much in writing more about my personal philosophy on film. I sort of need to get more hands on experience before I talk much more about that. I have not updated my A New Vision blog since last May. So, my plan is to get rid of it and start posting some of the comics I once did on that blog, here.

There is always something about film to write. I am always figuring out new things and looking into new people’s philosophies. I want to continue my “An Observation” posts. I have several directors I am looking into and will be posting some papers on them soon. I also want to continue to really concentrate on some personal work, like story development, photography, and comics. I will post some of this stuff on the blog, but a lot of it I want to keep to myself for now. So, because I am changing my concentration on more personal work, blogs will be posted less often. However, I do think it is important to be consistent with blog posts. I will try to update A Dreamer Walking once a week. I will try to keep my material as professional as possible and give you something you can really think about as film admirers or students.

I must confess, I write this blog more for myself then for any of you. It helps me develop and organize my thoughts. The reason I do not ask my audience for suggestions on topics I cover is because I really don’t care about your opinion in that regard. I do invite comments and criticism. I am used to having people tell me what they think no matter if it might hurt my feelings. The bottom line is I am not a natural writer and am always up for hearing about ways I could get better. I also love to strengthen my views through being forced to defend them. I do not like being shown how I am truly wrong about something, but I try my hardest to keep an open mind to be willing to admit when I am wrong and someone else is right. The way I see comments is they can pretty much only do good. Either the commenter will have something enlightening to say or I can simply ignore him or her if it seems they don’t care or are just trying to start a fight.

Give me a few days and I will have another post up. I will say right now I was not impressed with the last four wins at the Oscars the other day. I did not see Iron Lady but I know it wasn’t getting very good reviews, and really wanted Viola Davis to win the Best Actress award for her moving performance in The Help. The Artist was okay for the kind of movie it was, but it didn’t seem to be much more then a tribute to cinemas silent era. On the other hand Hugo was a magnificent tribute to the silent era while also giving us a worthy story of its own, where a boy needs to find value through loss and an old man needs to learn how to truly live again. Scorsese’s directing for the film was also superb. He used 3D and visual effects in groundbreaking ways while never losing sight of the main focus being the story. Jean Dujardin’s performance in The Artist was showy, but he did not have the magical touch we saw the silent greats Charlie Chaplin, Lon Chaney, or Douglas Fairbanks, give their characters. I believe we saw more charm and nuance from both Brad Pit in Moneyball and George Clooney in The Descendents, then we did from Dujardin.

I thank all of those reading and following my blog. I hope I am contributing to your understanding of art and film. This blog has been a thing of pride in my life. I have learned a lot through studying and writing what I have and hope to learn more and more for years to come. I hope you enjoy exploring my dreams and points of view. I will talk more to you guys soon.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ben chou said, on March 20, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing your opions all along without reservation. One of your article inspired me as I found difficulty in expressing my thoughts in English.


Leave a Reply

