A Dreamer Walking

Blog Status

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on July 25, 2011

Well, I have been working on a few blogs actually but none of them are working out very well yet. So, I thought this would be a good time to explain to whoever reads this blog what I have been up to and where I am going.

First off, I hope whoever reads this blog has found most of the posts helpful. The reason why I do this is so I can get my thoughts out onto paper in a essay format. I want to have a clear thesis, a clear beginning, middle and end, and I want to be provocative and grammar efficient enough in my writing for people to pay attention until the end of the post. If you come here often you know there have been a series of posts on Directors I have been studying and a series of posts on a book called Invisible Ink I have been reading. My plan is to keep on going with those series. However, before I get back to those series I have chosen to go through all of the notes I have been taking in the last two years.

I am huge on studying commentaries, filmmaker interviews, and behind the scenes footage before I begin to write about a director or idea I have been contemplating. In the last two years I have filled up ten notebooks with notes from all these extra features. However, one of the great things about taking notes is you are allowed to go back and study them. I have study some notes if they involve a director or idea I have been writing about, but all in all there is a good 80% that I have not come back to whatsoever.

The next few weeks (or maybe months) will be dedicated to going back through my notes. I will be posting blogs as well but some of them might be shorter then my usual and they will be covering a whole slew of subjects. I will get back into full swing with my Director Observation posts and Invisible Ink posts as soon as I am done with going through my notebooks. This is sort of a overwhelming task, it has taken me several days to get through just one notebook and I migrated to bigger notebooks sense 2009. So, bare with me. But, I think there is quite a bit of knowledge in my notebooks that has barley been explored. I am also looking forward to comparing notes from the past to the way I see things today. I have found that I concentrate on different things now then I did in 2009 and I write down much more now then I did in 2009. It is encouraging to see my note taking technique has improved in the last two years. If you want to read about my philosophy taking notes just click on this link.

I am looking forward to coming back to my Director Observation series. I have been studying some directors quite extensively but have written little if anything about them. Some of the directors I am hoping to explore in much more detail on this blog is Tom Hooper, Ridley Scott, Danny Boyle, and Darren Aronofsky. I also hope to return and write a few more posts on directors like Clint Eastwood and Martin Scorsese. I still plan on finishing my Invisible Ink series. I am a little disappointed they have not been as popular as my Observation posts. I consider most of the Invisible Ink posts to be very important on figuring out the art of storytelling. Even though the author of the book Brian McDonald concentrates on mostly just writing screenplays, I try to concentrate on both writing and directing film. If you want to see the posts fallow these links: Invisible Ink-Beginnings, II-Simplicity, II-Is Something There?, II-Don’t Tell Me SHOW ME!, II-Be the Drama Queen, II-Finding the Reflections, II-Finding Salvation.

So after that shameless advertising and explanation on where I am at and heading, I think it is time to end this post. If you have any suggestions I would love to hear them and I am looking forward to walking deeper into the medium of film with you guys.

Keep it cool!

 

Leave a Reply

