A Dreamer Walking

Fire Hydrant- Rich Contrast

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on June 2, 2011

First Let me apologize for not getting any blogs out recently. I hope to get another Invisible Ink post out soon.

I have been fascinated with fire hydrants lately. I did a series of pictures on one a while back. Here is another fire hydrant that caught my eye. For this picture I wanted to see how rich I could make the colors. I am also in love with contrast and found my painting program created a very rich color with a great contrast for this picture. If you zoom up on this picture you will see how stylized it really is. However, I do not mind stylizing a picture as long as I enhance what I believe to be the main focus of the picture. The main focus in this case is the water hydrant and I feel the contrast helps bring out the hydrant from the surroundings. Using the painting program allows me to simplify the picture much like turning it black and white would. I am not interested in the small details but rather the overall picture and how it all works together. I like the yellow fence to the right of the picture, it compliments the yellow in the hydrant. I also like the balance between dark and light. I hope you enjoy!

(You will have to click on the picture to see it in complete focus)

Leave a Reply

