A Dreamer Walking

Water Drops

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on April 21, 2011

Wow guys! Sorry about the absence of posts. I am back and will be posting about every other day. I found out I just went above a year a few days ago on the 12th. I think the first year went pretty well. In all I did 133 posts and I will leave it up to you to judge if they were good or not.

Here is a series of pictures I did of raindrops on a nice blue car my housemates own.

These first two pictures were not given much editing. The top picture is a wide shot expressing really how many drops are covering the car. I wanted the picture to feel balanced between the care and the background. The blue car contrasts with the green and brown background pretty well.

The second picture is a good close up of the raindrops. I found the extra texture of the dirt went well with the drops. My main goal was to have the water drops feel balanced all the way through the picture. I like the highlights in the rain drops, they make the picture really pop. Of course this picture just consisted of one color, blue. I think it worked out pretty well.


These last two pictures were worked on pretty extensively on Photoshop. I was not interested in making the viewer realize right off the bat what they were looking at. It is pretty clear we are looking at rain drops still but that is about it. I liked going from dark to white in the top picture. The goal was to create a balance between dark and white in the picture. I found taking away the color helped us concentrate on the actual highlights in the water drops.

The last picture consists of hundreds of water drops. They happened to be on the windsheild of the car. If you look closely you will see that many of the drops are reflections. The picture kind of has a stary look. I also like the color scheme. We go from blueish green, to aqua blue, to a slight bit of violet purple. The cool colors creates the feel of open space, which helps create that stary feeling.

Thanks for checking in. Hope you enjoy!

(You will need to click on the pictures to see them completely in focus)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Deep End | Eyes + Words said, on February 26, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    […] Photography by Jacob Boelman […]


Leave a Reply

