A Dreamer Walking

Framed Cord

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on February 7, 2011

This is not exactly my favorite picture I have ever taken, but I do think there are a few good things about it. First thing is the way the picture frames the main object. I just happened to be at the right place at the right time when the sun was about to set and was framing this extension cord beautifully. The eye is immediately drawn to the main part of the picture just by using light as a framing device. Extension cords for me bring back memories. When I was a kid my dad worked as a scenic designer for a collage and my brothers and I would go and visit him a lot. There were many extension cords around his work place and we would often bring him a cord or two so he could plug one of his power tools into it. So, because of the memories it gave me I wanted to make it look older as if it were taken from when I was a kid. I worked a little with color separation so the cord could stick out more. I brought down the saturation a little bit and then I gave the picture a sort of papery grain. As a young kid I saw many pictures that weren’t glossed over, they just were inked paper and they seemed to give the images a more classic feel. Hope you enjoy.

(Need to click on the picture to see it clearly)

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I got the Suber-Jones : ) said, on February 7, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    See this is a reason I love art because “Simple is so profound”……… Who thought a shot of a hanging extension cord would be so beautiful……… but everything is just right for this pic to turn out like it did “Awesome” lighting, angle, kudos man…… I see the significance………. smh…. wow!


Leave a Reply

