A Dreamer Walking

Martin Scorsese’s Favrite Movies

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on January 12, 2011

First off, I am sorry that I have not been updating this blog on a more consistent basis. I will try my best to remedy that.

I have been doing some research on Director Martin Scorsese. He is the next director that I have chosen to really dig into. I have bought the blu-ray’s of both Raging Bull and Goodfellas and plan on dissecting (looking into and abstracting as much information as possible) them both. At the moment I am looking into Martin’s movie Taxi Driver. I will try my best to get a review of the Collector’s Edition DVD up soon.

However, I have run across some Youtube video’s that I think are worth posting on this blog. It is a a three part all together about 25 minute interview on the movies that influenced Martin the most when he was a kid and a young filmmaker. He talks a little bit about how he inccorpuated some of the qualities of the movies he liked, such as The Searchers and The Public Enemy, into his own movies. I would suggest you do as I did and write down a few of these movies names. After looking at some of their reviews, they seemed like movies worthy of looking into.

This is really one of the things I like the most about Martin. He has a huge vocabulary of film that he seems to draw from in every piece of work he does. It is undeniable that Martin is one of the most intelligent film directors of his generations. The vast amount of knowledge that Martin seems to have in regards to how to use editing, the camera, the acting, and the music in order to bring about the vision for his film, is magnificent. He in himself is very much worthy of studying.

Leave a Reply

