A Dreamer Walking

Garbage and Surroundings: Series

Posted in Uncategorized by Jacob on October 5, 2010

I wanted to try to take a picture of the same object from different angles and see if I can make all of them interesting in their own unique ways while still keeping a unity in them so it was obvious to the viewer that they were part of the same series. This is my first attempt. The interesting contrast between the garbage can and the surroundings is what drew me to take the pictures.

This first picture shows my complete interest in the location. I like the contrast between the fence and garbage can, both in color and shade. The shadow also was fascinating to me, I think it helped balance the picture.

The Color and basic shape is what I tried to concentrate on in the picture. The blur makes the picture easier to take in. It is a great example of how taking away can sometimes bring more depth to a subject then adding detail.

In this picture I hope you see my attempt to make it completely balanced. I wanted half of it to be the garbage and half to be the surroundings. We are also able to get up close and sort of see the texture in the garbage can. Without the other two pictures you probably wouldn’t be able to tell that it is a garbage can. However, because of the other pictures this one becomes more interesting.

I will have another series up in a few days. I hope you enjoyed the pictures and would love to hear what you think.

Leave a Reply

