A Dreamer Walking

Detail

Posted in Personal Philosophy by Jacob on May 29, 2010

I am sorry for not getting a post up in the last few days. I am in the middle of a project that I am doing for a few friends of mine who are graduating from high school.

Working on these projects reminds me about how important it is to commit to detail in your work. I am referring to the extra work it takes to make a project go from mediocre to great. I admire many people from the past who have committed to detail in their work. Walt Disney and his artist were huge on detail back when they got into film. During the making of Snow White Walt Disney looked over every frame of animation not once but more like fifty times. There was a room called the “Sweat Box”, where each animator would bring Walt his work and Walt would critique the hell out of it. At times, Walt would tell his animators to do the animation all over again. That means several months of work was thrown away at times, in order to make better animation that told the story more clearly.

Detail is often forgotten now a days. The thought process is, “How can we get the quick buck?”. The only problem is that detail is what makes a work unique. I realize that I might be taking twice as much time as a normal person in order to get this project done, but I have also come to realize that it is the paying attention to details that make a project last. I am not as concerned about how much time it takes, as long as I am making my project be the best it could be.

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. minnow said, on May 29, 2010 at 7:50 am

    How much time it taks will not compare to how long it lasts if it is done well.

  2. striker49 said, on May 29, 2010 at 9:14 am

    I agree with you Minnow! 🙂


Leave a Reply

